CSU Foundation - Board of Governors Annual



Meeting Minutes

CSU Foundation 6/12/2024 2:30 PMPDT

@ Harper Alumni Center, California State University, Sacramento (6000 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95819)

Attendance

Present:

Members: Ronald Barhorst (remote), Kristin Crellin, Ron Fong, Michael Lucki (remote), Lorene Miller (remote), Henry Perea, Steven Stuck, Scott Wells (remote), Gillian Wright (remote) Staff: Wendy Garcia, Aaron Moore, Greg Saks, Donnie Tippie, Melissa Watkins

Absent:

Members: John Augustine, Mildred García, Kimberley Goode, Michael Lizárraga, Ali Razi, Gaddi Vasquez

I. Call to Order (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)

Chair Kristin Crellin called the meeting to order at 2:34 p.m.

II. Chair's Welcome and Report (Information) (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)

Chair Crellin welcomed everyone, both in-person and via Zoom, and thanked Sacramento State for hosting, noting the enjoyable lunch and campus tour. She highlighted the year's leadership transitions, including a new chancellor in October and a new foundation president in February, and introduced Melissa Watkins, who succeeded Lori Redfearn in April as the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Systemwide Advancement and Chief Administrative Officer for the CSU Foundation. Chair Crellin praised Melissa's work and extensive non-profit development experience from her roles at Loyola Marymount University, Cal Poly Pomona, and CSU Bakersfield. She also thanked board members for their fiscal year contributions, mentioned the recent solicitation letter for the 2024 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement, and acknowledged those committed to supporting named scholars, noting the team is working to complete the final four endowments.

III. Update Conflict of Interest Acknowledgement Forms (Information) (Presenters: Aaron Moore)

Conflict of Interest Form.pdf

Aaron Moore reminded the board about their conflict of interest statements as outlined in the CSU Foundation bylaws and the Code of Ethics. He emphasized that all members must submit a signed form. Members present were given hard copies to sign, while others received forms via Adobe Sign and were asked to check their email to complete the process.

- IV. Nominating Committee (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)
 - A. Nominating Committee Meetings (Information)

Chair Kristin Crellin announced that the CSU Foundation has five open board seats and will be working with the Nominating Committee to identify and meet potential members over the next several months. Melissa has already initiated the process by contacting a few members. Chair Crellin then invited Melissa to share the committee's charge. She also welcomed feedback from board members who serve on other boards and opened the floor for any suggestions on the process.

B. Re-appointment of Board Members (Action)

Chair Kristin Crellin noted that in accordance with the bylaws, the terms of the following board members are expiring on June 30, 2024: herself, Ron Barhorst, Kimberley Goode, and Mike Lucki. She expressed gratitude for their dedication and service to the CSU Foundation and proposed re-appointing each of them for an additional three-year term, concluding on June 30, 2027.

Motion:

RESOLVED, that Ronald R. Barhorst be re-appointed to serve as a member of the Board of Governors for an additional 3-year term concluding June 30, 2027. **RESOLVED,** that Kristin Crellin be re-appointed to serve as a member of the Board of Governors for an additional 3-year term concluding June 30, 2027. **RESOLVED,** that Kimberley Goode be re-appointed to serve as a member of the Board of Governors for an additional 3-year term concluding June 30, 2027. **RESOLVED,** that Michael A. Lucki be re-appointed to serve as a member of the Board of Governors for an additional 3-year term concluding June 30, 2027.

Motion moved by Henry Perea and motion seconded by Steven Stuck. Approved

C. Election of Officers (Action)

Chair Crellin shared the proposed slate of officers for 2024-25.

Motion:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors elects the slate of officers listed to serve until their successors are duly elected at the next annual meeting.

Chair: Kristin Crellin

Vice Chair: Gillian Wright Treasurer: Mike Lucki Secretary: Ron Fong

Motion moved by Ronald Barhorst and motion seconded by Steven Stuck. Approved

D. Affirmation of President & CEO, CAO, CFO, Vice President & COO, and Assistant Secretary (Action)

Chair Crellin noted that annually the board affirms the President & CEO, Chief Administrative Officer, CFO, Vice President & COO, and Assistant Secretary. This allows these officers as staff to transact business on behalf of the CSU Foundation.

Motion:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors affirms the selection of Greg Saks as President & Chief Executive Officer; Melissa Watkins as Chief Administrative Officer; Aaron J. Moore as Chief Financial Officer; and Wendy C. Garcia as Vice President & Chief Operating Officer and Assistant Secretary, as designated by Chancellor Mildred García and authorizes the President & Chief Executive Officer, Chief Administrative Officer, Chief Financial Officer, Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, and Assistant Secretary, to act as an agent of the CSU Foundation to sign agreements, enter into contracts, issue payments and otherwise bind the CSU Foundation, to the extent that such commitments are in the ordinary and routine course of business, or are included in the current budget authorized by the Board, or are otherwise specifically authorized by the Board in any Memorandum of Understanding, Agreement, Operating Procedure or resolution of the Board.

Motion moved by Michael Lucki and motion seconded by Ron Fong. Approved

- V. Board Committees and Meetings (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)
 - A. Committee Membership List (Action)

Chair Crellin proposed the committee membership for 2024-25 and thanked the committee chairs for their service.

Motion:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors approves the 2024-25 committee membership list as presented.

Executive/Nominating Committee

Kristin Crellin, Chair Gillian Wright, Vice Chair Mike Lucki, Treasurer Ron Fong, Secretary Mildred García, Chancellor

Audit Committee

Gillian Wright, Chair Ron Fong Henry Perea Scott Wells

Finance and Investment Committee

Mike Lucki, Chair Ron Barhorst Kristin Crellin Michael Lizárraga Steve Stuck

Scholarship and Philanthropy Committee

Kimberley Goode, Chair Kristin Crellin Ali Razi

Advocacy and Outreach Committee

Lorene Miller, Chair Henry Perea Steve Stuck Gaddi Vasquez Motion moved by Steven Stuck and motion seconded by Michael Lucki . Approved

B. Proposed Meeting Schedule (Action)

Chair Crellin reviewed the proposed 2024-25 board meeting dates. A typo was noted in the Trustees' Award date and it was corrected to Tuesday, September 24.

Motion:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors approves the 2024-25 meeting schedule.

Tuesday, September 24, 2024 (Optional)

Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement Ceremony during CSU Board of

Trustees Meeting

Time: 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Where: CSU Chancellor's Office, Long Beach, CA

Friday, December 13, 2024

Time: 1:00-5:00 p.m.

Where: CSU Chancellor's Office, Long Beach, CA

Friday, March 14, 2025 Time: 1:00-5:00 p.m.

via Zoom

Friday, June 13, 2025

Time: 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Where: California State University, Northridge (Tentative)

Motion moved by Henry Perea and motion seconded by Michael Lucki . Approved

VI. Old Business (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)

There was no old business.

VII. New Business (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)

There was no new business.

VIII. Adjournment (Presenters: Kristin Crellin, Chair)

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 2:54 p.m.